Skip to main content

CityU Graduate School and Doctoral Training System — The Structure and Funding of Research Degrees

Academics ~31,834 characters · 66 min read Updated

Module: 01 Academics · Sub-file: Graduate School institutional history / doctoral training mechanics / professional doctorates / HKPFS operations This piece is the deep-dive companion to programs.md. The basic degree spectrum, monthly stipend tables, entry qualifications and English requirements, and the internal scholarship list are already tabulated there and are not repeated here; this piece focuses on the origins of the Chow Yei Ching School of Graduate Studies, its role in the University's overall postgraduate governance, the specific structure of professional doctorates, and the full chain of the Hong Kong PhD Fellowship Scheme from territory-wide system to CityU's own package. For an overview of colleges and schools, see colleges-and-schools.md; for academic structure and credits, see academic-system.md.

One-sentence bottom line: The Chow Yei Ching School of Graduate Studies at City University of Hong Kong was established in 1994 and named after Chow Yei Ching following his donation in 2006; it governs all research and professional doctorates at the University in a coordinating capacity. In the 2026/27 academic year, the Hong Kong PhD Fellowship Scheme awarded 400 places territory-wide, with CityU awardees receiving a monthly stipend of approximately HK$28,400.


A university's graduate school is usually not where students attend classes, but it is where their ability to graduate is decided. Postgraduate education at City University of Hong Kong (CityUHK/CityU) sits under an institution called the "Chow Yei Ching School of Graduate Studies" — a name that belongs to a Hong Kong industrialist born in Ningbo in 1935 who died in 2018. The money he donated did not buy a building bearing his name; it bought the naming rights to an entire graduate school. This piece begins with that slightly unusual naming arrangement, and works through CityU's research degree (PhD/MPhil) and professional doctorate training systems, and how a top doctoral applicant can obtain a monthly stipend of around HK$28,000 via the Hong Kong PhD Fellowship Scheme.

A graduate school that is not an "awarding college" — so what does it coordinate?

To understand CityU's doctoral training system, one must first clear up an easily misunderstood point of positioning: the Chow Yei Ching School of Graduate Studies is not a college like the business school or the engineering school that runs courses and awards degrees. At CityU, degrees are delivered through the academic departments of the various Colleges and Schools, which provide teaching and research supervision; a student's supervisor, laboratory and departmental home all sit within a specific college. The graduate school plays a University-wide role of coordination and quality assurance.

According to the official introduction of the Chow Yei Ching School of Graduate Studies, the School's remit is defined as "promoting excellence in postgraduate education and ensuring consistency and high standards across the University's postgraduate programmes," operating in "shared responsibility and collaborative governance" with the academic departments. In other words, it manages University-wide rules, admissions coordination, records, examinations, funding and student support — not how any particular course is taught. This division of labour — "coordinator rather than awarder" — is an institutional design CityU shares with graduate schools at many overseas universities.

This coordination is delivered through a multi-layered committee structure. The Graduate School has a Dean of Graduate Studies, who chairs the academic governance and presides over two core committees; below the Dean are Associate Deans who support quality assurance, and a Director, SGS who runs day-to-day administration, covering admissions, academic records, examinations, financial support and student activities. The two subsidiary committees have a clear division of responsibilities: the Committee on Master's Programmes (CMP) handles taught master's matters, while the Committee on Research Degrees Candidature (CRDC) is responsible for considering candidature for MPhil, PhD and professional doctorate students. The named management list for this governance layer is set out in programs.md.

The degrees coordinated by the Graduate School fall into three broad categories: Research Postgraduate (RPg) degrees, centred on thesis research — namely the PhD and MPhil; Professional Doctorates (PD), which combine coursework and research and are aimed at senior professionals; and the mainly taught master's programmes. This piece focuses on the doctoral level of the first two categories; the full spectrum of taught master's programmes can be found in programs.md.

Where do the three characters "Chow Yei Ching" come from? — a history of naming through donation

CityU established its graduate school (School of Graduate Studies, SGS) in 1994, almost in step with its own renaming as a "university" in the same year — CityU's predecessor was the City Polytechnic of Hong Kong, founded in 1984, which became City University of Hong Kong in 1994 (for the related lineage, see colleges-and-schools.md). The original purpose of the graduate school was to provide a dedicated coordinating hub for the rapidly expanding postgraduate programmes of the time.

The graduate school acquired the name "Chow Yei Ching" in 2006. According to the School's official introduction, it was renamed the "Chow Yei Ching School of Graduate Studies" "in recognition of the generous donation of Dr Chow Yei Ching." This naming embedded a business figure's name permanently in CityU's academic governance structure — not a building, not a chair, but an entire graduate school.

Who was Chow Yei Ching? According to publicly available information, Chow Yei Ching (1935–2018) was a native of Ningbo, Zhejiang, and the founder, chairman and managing director of Chevalier International Holdings. His business empire spanned property management, engineering and construction, insurance, finance, information technology, catering and automobile dealership, with operations in six countries and more than 4,500 employees. He was a long-time supporter of higher education in Hong Kong, donating not only to CityU but also to the University of Hong Kong and the Hong Kong Polytechnic University. In 2004 he was awarded the Gold Bauhinia Star by the Hong Kong SAR Government, and held honorary doctorates from several Hong Kong universities.

Worth noting: the 2006 naming was not the end of a one-off event. According to CityU's public activity records, the Graduate School held a series of distinguished lectures around the tenth anniversary of the naming (approximately 2016) to mark the relationship — evidence that for CityU the naming is not merely a plaque but an institutional memory that continues to be marked. Chow Yei Ching passed away in 2018, and his name remains on campus in the form of the Graduate School.

Year Milestone Details
1984 City Polytechnic of Hong Kong founded CityU's predecessor
1994 Renamed City University of Hong Kong Graduate School (SGS) established the same year
2006 Graduate School named Renamed "Chow Yei Ching School of Graduate Studies" following Chow's donation
c. 2016 Tenth anniversary of naming Memorial distinguished lecture series held
2018 Chow Yei Ching passes away The naming continues to this day

A note on the provenance of the naming: the core facts — established 1994, named 2006, identity of the donor — are corroborated by the School's official introduction and public biographical sources, and are verified. However, the specific amount of the donation is not disclosed on any official public page. This piece does not estimate it and will not fill the gap with hearsay figures — this is an information gap recorded honestly.

What academic hurdles must a doctoral student clear at CityU?

More than "how much money you get," the real gatekeeping for research degrees lies in a series of academic hurdles. CityU's PhD and MPhil students must pass several institutional checkpoints in sequence from admission to graduation. This "academic lifeline" says more about what doctoral training actually involves than any funding table.

Hurdle one: coursework and compulsory training. Contrary to the common assumption that "doctoral students only do research and take no classes," CityU imposes explicit minimum coursework requirements for research degrees. According to the official CityU research degree programmes page, MPhil students must complete at least 7 credits (including at least 2 credits of research methods and academic integrity courses), while PhD students must complete at least 14 credits (including at least 9 credits of core courses and at least 2 credits of research methods and academic integrity courses). Both share two cross-college compulsory training components: a 1-credit course called "Teaching Students: First Steps (SG8001)", and research integrity training completed via the CITI Program. The existence of the former suggests CityU has written "doctoral students are also would-be teachers" into its training expectations — funded research students are normally expected to undertake teaching support work (see the funding section below).

Hurdle two: the Qualifying Examination. This is the watershed for PhD students. A student must pass a qualifying examination within a set period after admission, assessing their knowledge of their major field and their readiness to undertake doctoral research; there is a limit on the number of attempts. Only after passing does a student formally acquire "doctoral candidature" and become eligible for advancement to a higher stipend tier. Outstanding MPhil students may also use this route to apply to transfer to the PhD. The specific timing window, attempt limits and transfer rules are tabulated in programs.md and are not repeated here.

Hurdle three: thesis and viva. The end point of a research degree is an original research thesis, which must be submitted and pass examination. This stage hands the research output to examiners from inside and outside the University for scrutiny — the final gate on the "quality" of the degree. CityU's specific thesis examination procedure (including external examiner arrangements) follows the Graduate School's Research Degree Student Handbook for the year in question; this piece does not go through the regulations item by item — readers needing operational details should consult the official handbook.

Together, these three hurdles make one thing clear: a CityU doctorate is a three-stage structure of "coursework + qualifying exam + thesis viva", not simply "a few years of research under a supervisor." The fundamental difference between a research degree and a taught master's lies precisely in that middle qualifying exam and that final examined thesis — they determine whether the path leads to an academic and research career, or merely to a certificate for having completed coursework.

Professional doctorates: a separate doctoral route for working executives and engineers

Alongside the purely academic PhD/MPhil path, the Chow Yei Ching School of Graduate Studies also coordinates another category of doctorate that is easy to overlook — the Professional Doctorate (PD). It is aimed not at fresh research recruits but at senior professionals who have already spent years in industry. According to the Graduate School's official introduction, the professional doctorate is defined as a category encompassing the Doctor of Business Administration (DBA), the Doctor of Juridical Science (JSD) and Engineering Doctorates, among others, whose common feature is that they combine both taught and research components, integrating theory, practice and research into a single programme.

According to the official CityU professional doctorate programmes page, CityU's current professional doctorates are mainly offered by the College of Business and the College of Engineering: the Doctor of Business Administration (DBA) and its Chinese-taught version (DBAC) are run by the College of Business; the Engineering Doctorates are split into an English-taught Engineering Management stream (Engineering Doctorate in Engineering Management, ENGDEM) and a Chinese-taught version (ENGDC), run by the College of Engineering. The positioning of these degrees is quite explicit — they are designed for "business leaders, entrepreneurs and senior executives" and for "engineering professionals who pursue advanced studies while continuing to work."

Taking the DBA as an example, the official description states that it aims to develop "senior executives who can discover and advance knowledge and practice in their fields," emphasising both academic rigour and business relevance in equal measure; typical applicants must hold a relevant master's degree in a business-related discipline and possess substantial professional work experience, some of which should be at senior level, with most applicants having over ten years of work experience (though outstanding candidates with slightly less experience are also welcome). This "ten-year threshold" clearly separates the DBA from an ordinary PhD: the former recruits industry veterans, the latter recruits academic potential.

The Engineering Doctorate (EngD) curriculum structure has been made public in greater detail. According to the CityU College of Engineering EngD page, the taught component consists of 9 credits of core courses and 12 credits of electives, while the research component is a 36-credit thesis; the normal duration of the research phase is three years. The programme is designed so that students, "while fulfilling their work responsibilities," can carry out engineering management and advanced industry research on significant strategic industrial topics — in other words, it grafts doctoral research directly onto real projects in the student's own company.

Professional Doctorate English/Code Host College Language of Instruction Core Positioning
Doctor of Business Administration DBA College of Business English Senior executives, typically 10+ years' experience
Doctor of Business Administration (Chinese) DBAC College of Business Chinese Senior executives in a Chinese-language context
Engineering Doctorate (Engineering Management) ENGDEM College of Engineering English Working engineering professionals
Engineering Doctorate (Chinese) ENGDC College of Engineering Chinese Engineering professionals in a Chinese-language context
Doctor of Juridical Science JSD School of Law English Advanced research in law; see the Law School piece

The key differences between professional doctorates and research doctorates can be summarised in three points: target students (working senior professionals vs applicants with academic potential), the mix of coursework (a clearly higher taught component vs thesis research as the core), and funding status (professional doctorates are usually self-financed and studied part-time while working, and do not enter the research postgraduate funding or HKPFS systems below). The JSD, as the Law School's advanced research degree, and how it differs from the JD and LLM, is covered in school-of-law.md.

The Hong Kong PhD Fellowship Scheme: a territory-wide competition and a national-level talent programme

If the qualifying exam and thesis viva are the "academic hurdles" of a doctorate, then the Hong Kong PhD Fellowship Scheme (HKPFS) is the "funding hurdle" at the door of admission — it is the most competitive doctoral funding in Hong Kong, and CityU's main channel for recruiting top international doctoral students. To understand how it operates at CityU, one must first see its lineage as a territory-wide institution.

According to the official page of the Hong Kong Research Grants Council (RGC), the HKPFS was established in 2009 by the RGC, with the aim of "attracting the best and brightest students from around the world to pursue research degree programmes in Hong Kong." It is not a scholarship of any single university but a unified competitive scheme open to all eight universities funded by the University Grants Committee (UGC) — applicants compete for a pool of places shared territory-wide and allocated across institutions. CityU is one of the eight participating universities.

The scale of the scheme has expanded steadily over more than a decade. According to the RGC, 400 HKPFS places were awarded in the 2026/27 academic year, allocated across the eight universities. Compared with the roughly one-hundred-plus places per year in the scheme's early years, the expansion is substantial — consistent with Hong Kong's recent policy direction of writing "talent attraction" into its overall research strategy. However, the precise year-by-year evolution of the number of places (how many in which year) is not set out individually on the current official page. This piece anchors only the two officially sourced points — "established 2009" and "400 places in 2026/27" — and treats the precise figures for intervening years as leads to be verified, not as facts.

Assessment is led by review panels established by the RGC. According to the official CityU HKPFS page, the assessment examines six dimensions: academic excellence, research ability and potential, cultural diversity, communication and interpersonal skills, leadership and social responsibility, and the support of the university. The first two are hard indicators (grades, publications, research proposal); the latter ones bring into consideration "whether this is a future scholar with leadership and the ability to integrate into a multicultural environment" — a set of criteria that explains why HKPFS winners are often not merely "academically strong," but people holistically assessed as having scholarly potential.

On the funding amounts, according to the RGC, winners in the 2026/27 academic year receive an annual stipend of approximately HK$340,800 (about HK$28,400 per month), plus an annual conference and research-related travel allowance of about HK$14,200, for a funding period of three years. One caveat: stipend amounts are adjusted by academic year, and different official pages update at slightly different paces; the exact figures should follow the RGC and CityU announcements for the year of application. The figures cited here are the published 2026/27 figures.

How CityU "plugs" the HKPFS into its own funding structure

The HKPFS is a territory-wide scheme, but what actually keeps winners at a university to finish their doctorates is each university's own package. On top of the RGC's base funding, CityU adds a layer of University-funded support, forming a "security package" — this is the core of "how the HKPFS operates at CityU."

A dual-track application procedure. According to the official CityU HKPFS page, applicants must complete two tracks simultaneously: first, register on the RGC's Online Application System (OAS) and obtain a reference number; second, use that number to complete a full application on CityU's own online application system. Both must be submitted separately before the same deadline. For the 2026/27 academic year, by way of example, both RGC registration and the full CityU application are due on 1 December 2025 (noon for the RGC system, 23:59 for the CityU system); shortlisted candidates are invited for interview (in person or by phone); results are announced around May 2026; and admission is expected for September 2026. Applicants may choose up to two PhD programmes on the RGC system and indicate their priority. This sequence — "get the RGC number first, then apply to CityU" — is a procedural detail that many applicants get wrong.

CityU's three-layer package. Beyond the RGC stipend, according to CityU's official statements, awardees also receive supplementary support from CityU itself, topping up the three-year HKPFS into a more complete guarantee:

Funding item Funder Amount (2026/27 basis) Coverage
Monthly stipend RGC approx. HK$28,400/month (approx. HK$340,800/year) Up to three years
Travel allowance RGC approx. HK$14,200/year Conference and research travel
First-year admission scholarship CityU approx. HK$95,496 First-year tuition and on-campus accommodation
Fourth-year stipend continuation CityU same level as RGC Fourth year of a four-year doctorate

The design logic of this package, in CityU's own words, is to "bridge the RGC three-year ceiling": the HKPFS stipend is paid for only three years, but the normal duration of many of CityU's doctoral programmes is four years, so CityU funds the fourth-year stipend itself, at the same level as the RGC, ensuring awardees' "financial security is uninterrupted throughout." Combined with the admission scholarship covering first-year tuition and accommodation (approximately HK$95,496), an HKPFS awardee at CityU has tuition, housing and living costs essentially packaged and settled in their first year — this is CityU's "security package" for lowering the financial concerns of top international applicants.

Funding for ordinary research students beyond the awardees. Not every research student receives the HKPFS. For generally admitted full-time research students, CityU provides a Studentship in two tiers — a basic monthly stipend and an advanced tier awarded after passing the qualifying examination — with a funding period of up to four years for the PhD and two years for the MPhil, plus conference funding and a research activity fund. The full stipend table for this ordinary RPg funding is set out tier by tier in programs.md. One point that should be noted alongside: funded research students are normally expected to undertake up to about 10 hours per week of teaching or research support work, echoing the compulsory "doctoral students are also would-be teachers" coursework discussed above — funding is not unconditional; it enlists students into the teaching and research manpower of the colleges.

Why does CityU fund the fourth year out of its own pocket? — the mismatch between duration and funding

The fact that CityU funds a fourth-year stipend itself deserves separate attention, because it exposes a territory-wide institutional mismatch. The HKPFS stipend is paid by the RGC, with a ceiling of three years; but a doctoral student entering directly from a bachelor's degree, with no prior master's, typically has a normal study period of four years (for the general rules on local doctoral durations and credit structures, see the discussion of the academic system in academic-system.md). Three years of funding against a four-year programme — the difference is a year of potential funding gap.

CityU's solution is to fund that fourth year itself, explicitly "at the same level as the RGC" rather than as a symbolic token. According to CityU's official statements, the purpose is to ensure that awardees' "financial security is uninterrupted throughout." The implicit judgment behind this arrangement is that top international doctoral applicants, holding offers from multiple universities, often compare not the nominal monthly stipend but the certainty of "will there be a year without funding in these four years" — and CityU uses a sum of University money to buy that certainty. This is also why this piece repeatedly stresses the "security package" rather than a single figure: for talent recruitment, four consecutive years of guaranteed funding is more persuasive than a few hundred extra Hong Kong dollars in any one stipend tier.

Complementing this is the work obligation on funded research degree students. Funded full-time research students are normally required to spend up to about 10 hours per week on teaching or research support — marking, running laboratory classes, assisting with a supervisor's research projects, and so on. This makes the nature of the "scholarship" clear: it is not a pure grant, but something closer to a salaried position with an apprenticeship character, in which students are enrolled in the teaching and research workforce of the college while being paid. The compulsory course "Teaching Students: First Steps (SG8001)" mentioned earlier is precisely the institutional groundwork for this quasi-teacher identity.

Research degrees, professional doctorates and taught master's: how are the three paths distinguished?

Placing the three categories of degree coordinated by the Graduate School side by side makes it easier to see that CityU's doctoral spectrum is not monolithic but consists of three paths with different aims. The distinction between these three paths can be unpacked along four dimensions: target students, the mix of coursework, the final assessment, and funding status:

Dimension Research degrees (PhD/MPhil) Professional doctorates (DBA/EngD/JSD) Taught master's (MA/MSc etc.)
Target students Applicants with academic potential, mostly recent graduates or research newcomers Working senior professionals; DBA typically 10+ years' experience Graduates or working professionals seeking professional advancement
Mix of coursework Thesis research as the core, coursework subsidiary (PhD ≥14 credits) Clearly higher taught component, plus research thesis (EngD thesis 36 credits) Taught component as the core
Final assessment Qualifying exam + examined research thesis Taught grades + application-oriented research thesis Accumulated credits/course assessment
Funding status Eligible for the Studentship/HKPFS funding system Usually self-financed and studied part-time while working Usually self-financed

This comparison explains a frequently confused point: CityU has more than one kind of "doctorate." Doing a PhD is aimed at an academic and research career and requires clearing the academic gate of the qualifying exam; doing a professional doctorate (such as the DBA or EngD) is for industry veterans returning to upgrade, grafting doctoral research onto their own professional practice, with a heavier coursework load and usually self-financed; and the taught master's is not at the doctoral level at all, being a separate, coursework-led path. The coordinating value of the Graduate School lies precisely in maintaining, across these three paths with very different aims, a single set of rules that separate them and at the same time keep their standards consistent.

How the Graduate School meshes with CityU's internationalisation positioning

Linking the institutional history, the professional doctorates and the HKPFS together, one sees that the Graduate School's role meshes with CityU's overall positioning. According to the official CityU research degree programmes page, about 80% of CityU's research degree students are non-local, coming from more than 50 countries, constituting one of the most international postgraduate communities in Hong Kong. This "80% non-local" figure is precisely the long-term result of schemes like the HKPFS, which recruit globally — a scholarship that attracts applicants from around the world naturally pushes the nationality mix of the postgraduate community towards diversity.

In this, the Graduate School plays the same "coordinator" role: it does not decide which department admits whom, but it maintains University-wide admissions standards, funding rules and degree-quality gates, so that doctoral students from more than fifty countries, spread across a dozen colleges, all operate within the same institutional framework. The consistency of that framework — from uniform qualifying examination requirements, to uniform compulsory research integrity training, to uniform thesis examination standards — is the institutional foundation on which CityU can sustain an "international postgraduate community" as a governable whole.

From naming through donation to funding guarantees, the institution that is the Chow Yei Ching School of Graduate Studies ties together two main threads of CityU postgraduate education: one is the institutional thread (coordinating governance, qualifying examinations, thesis viva, the professional doctorate spectrum); the other is the funding thread (the ordinary Studentship, the territory-wide HKPFS places, and CityU's own fourth-year stipend continuation and admission scholarship). Where the two threads intersect is the complete journey of a top doctoral applicant at CityU — from a dual-track application across two systems, to a qualifying examination, to a thesis that must pass examination.

Boundaries and gaps (recorded honestly, not filled by speculation)

  • The specific amount of the donation that named the Graduate School — not disclosed on current official pages; this piece does not estimate it and does not cite hearsay figures.
  • The precise year-by-year evolution of HKPFS places — only two points, "established 2009" and "400 places in 2026/27," have official sources; the precise figures for intervening years have not been individually verified and are treated as leads to be checked.
  • The item-by-item regulations for thesis viva and external examiners — follow the Graduate School's Research Degree Student Handbook for the year in question; this piece does not substitute for the official handbook on operational details.
  • The exact figures for the HKPFS stipend and travel allowance — adjusted by academic year, with slightly different update paces across official pages; the figures cited here are the published 2026/27 figures, and the year of application should follow the latest RGC and CityU announcements.

Sources

Cross-references

Future update criteria

This piece is the institutional-history and systemic deep-dive companion to programs.md, and deliberately does not reproduce its stipend/tuition/entry-requirement tables. Future updates should enter the main text only from three kinds of material: first, primary sources such as the University's official website, the Graduate School handbook, and the RGC/UGC; second, verifiable facts in reliable media or public archives; third, public timelines that explain institutional change. If the update merely adds a year's place count or stipend amount, it should be merged into the corresponding table; only if the Graduate School's governance or the professional doctorate spectrum undergoes structural reorganisation should the relevant section be expanded. A single screenshot, a dateless rumour, or a figure whose source cannot be located may only serve as a lead to be checked, and must not be written into the text as fact.

Sources · verify independently